Visi Pramudia

Genentech Case Study: Implementation of Technology Management

Posted on: Mei 21, 2008

Technology is a key resource of profound importance for corporate profitability and growth. It also has enormous significance for the well-being of national economies as well as international competitiveness. Effective management of technology links engineering, science, and management disciplines to address the issues involved in the planning, development, and implementation of technological capabilities to shape and accomplish the strategic and operational objectives of an organisation.

The concept of technology management is quite broad, since it covers not only R&D but also the management of product and process technologies. Viewed from that perspective, the management of technology is actually the practice of integrating technology strategy with business strategy in the company.

This dowloaded article provides the implementation of technology management that have been used by Genentech Inc. It also covers a particular issues imposed on the major strategic options facing the company, provides a Mission Statement for the company and other issues related to the its strategy.

You can dowload the article here: Genentech Article

Other Downloadable Articles & Presentation can be found here: Download Page

2 Tanggapan to "Genentech Case Study: Implementation of Technology Management"

Hi!

I find it interesting that the case company (p. 6) chose to make the “technology strategy” drive the business strategy.

In most companies it would have been the exact opposite constellation since it is the business side of the company that finance the technology the side.

Thereto I find it interesting that Porter’s internal value chain (Porter, 1985) wasn’t included in the case or for that matter anything based on his work from 1980 “competitive strategy”.

Never the less I would like to mention that I found the case interesting but it might need an update e.g., compared to the theories presented in Enterprise Architecture or Coherency Architecture.

Best wishes,
Peter

I got this site from my pal who informed me on
the topic of this web page and now this time I am browsing this site and reading very informative articles or reviews
at this place.

Tinggalkan Balasan

I'm the one with my own vision. Vision to give my wisdom on surrounding society. Especially my lovely wife and 2 kids, my parents and all my family, my all friends at my workplace, home and anywhere you are, ...

Kategori

Indonesians’ Beautiful Sharing Network
Add to Technorati Favorites

Blog Stats

  • 267,299 hits
